Clearance Banner

Clearance Banner

Clearance Banner

Clearance Banner

Clearance Banner

Clearance Banner

Clearance Banner

You are not connected. Please login or register

FLOAT TUBE FISHING FORUM » Fishing Tactics, Tackle, and reviews » Fishing Tackle And Gear Related Discussions » Baitcast Reel Ruined

Baitcast Reel Ruined

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1 Baitcast Reel Ruined on Wed Jun 19, 2013 12:08 pm

mightyminnow25

Bobber
Bobber
Do you guys wash your rods and reels after fishing salt? I'm not sure what happened but my Daiwa Megaforce reel is really rough now. It sticks when I try to reel it in and the twitch bar no longer works. I am going to try to take it apart and clean and lube it. I've never done this before so do you guys have any tips? Do you wash your baitcast reels after fishing in the salt? Thats the only thing I Could think of that would make my reel stick. There is also a rough grinding sound when I start to reel it in.

2 Re: Baitcast Reel Ruined on Wed Jun 19, 2013 12:26 pm

jjvalencia

Bobber
Bobber
Every time I fish the salt I rinse all my gear off. If youn don't do so it will corrode because salt corrodes like crazy. But yeah take it apart and clean and lube it. Good luck hope it makes it better.

3 Re: Baitcast Reel Ruined on Wed Jun 19, 2013 12:36 pm

mightyminnow25

Bobber
Bobber
Thanks. The only thing I rinse is my float tube, fins and hooks, baits, etc. It never occurred to me to rinse the reel. Now I have to figure how to take it apart and what parts to lube and what not. Sucks!

4 Re: Baitcast Reel Ruined on Wed Jun 19, 2013 12:53 pm

.:LOLLY:.

Senior
Senior
If you don't want to open up your reel completely, try cleaning where the spool makes contact with the reel. There might be some salt build up in there. Also, remove your bearings and clean/oil them then slap them back in

5 Re: Baitcast Reel Ruined on Wed Jun 19, 2013 1:15 pm

mightyminnow25

Bobber
Bobber